Continued Education

I was speaking with a friend the other day that was taking some continuing education classes for work.  As I was driving home tonight I thought of how much continuing education classes we do take for our jobs but wondered what continuing education we are taking for our marriage or in parenting.

When my husband and I were engaged, we went through premarital counseling to discuss what life would be like and to discuss strengths and weaknesses we each had.  It was great.  Sincerely I was scared when I had to bring up things that bothered me about my soon to be spouse.  (remember I don’t like confrontation) Wow, I was so relieved to discuss it and finally have it on the table though.  We read our first marriage book together and discussed. It was one of the best things we did.

Just before we were married a friend of ours gave us a book on marriage.  I don’t remember the book honestly but the message that went with it.  They told us that marriage was work and that we needed to work to stay together.  They told us that one thing they did as a couple was they had committed to reading a marriage book each year.  They were always working on their marriage.

Now honestly I don’t know if I can say we have read a marriage book every year but we have read a lot.  We have continued our education on marriage so-to-speak.  In addition though I have read a ton of books on parenting.  Some I have loved and others not so much.  I have always felt it was important to be seeking new ideas to make my family and  home life better.

Needless to say as I was thinking about this tonight I was wondering how others are doing in this area.  How do you spend your time?  Do you do continuing education for your marriage or do you feel you don’t need it?  Are you learning to be a better parent or do you feel you’ve got it all figured out; who needs to change?

Sadly, we are living in a time where marriage and family is under attack by the enemy.  I have seen first hand the result of divorce and strive to help others keep their marriage together.  I refuse to let the enemy get a foothold on my marriage, although he tries.  My marriage is strong but I feel part of the reason for this is we work together as a team.  We discuss life, future, our relationship with the Lord, and our children.  God brought us together for a perfect plan and He calls it good.

So I want to encourage you to invest in your marriage.  There are tons of good books out there.  I hope to share some of my recent finds with you to encourage you, but that will be in a later post.  Investing in your marriage and in your children is one of the most rewarding things we can do.  Not only will your children be blessed by your continued effort in parenting but they will be even more blessed to see you striving in your marriage to make it great.

God Bless and have a great night.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

